Jeskai Elder (1U)
Creature – Human Monk – 1/2
Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
Whenever Jeskai Elder deals combat damage to a player, you may draw a card. If you do, discard a card.
053/274 – U – M21 – EN – 2020
Art by Craig J Spearing
GATHERER RULINGS
- CHINESE SIMPLIFIED – 洁斯凯长老
- CHINESE TRADITIONAL – 潔斯凱長老
- GERMAN – Jeskai-Älteste
- FRENCH – Doyenne jeskaï
- ITALIAN – Anziana Jeskai
- JAPANESE – ジェスカイの長老
- KOREAN – 제스카이 장로
- PORTUGUESE – Anciã Jeskai
- RUSSIAN – Старейшина Джескайцев
- SPANISH – Anciana jeskai
SETS & LEGALITY
2020.06.23:
You draw a card and discard a card all while Jeskai Elder’s ability is resolving. Nothing can happen between the two, and no player may choose to take actions.
2014.09.20:
Any spell you cast that doesn’t have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won’t cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won’t cause prowess to trigger.
Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.
Once it triggers, prowess isn’t connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.
You draw a card and discard a card all while Jeskai Elder’s ability is resolving. Nothing can happen between the two, and no player may choose to take actions.